Toddler–Kids
Green Elephant Stepping Stones Review: Are They Worth It?
Last updated: September 2026
Green Elephant stepping stones are foam balance stones — octagonal pods, each 10.6 inches across and 4.5 inches tall, that a child stacks, lines up and jumps between. The surprise is what they're made of: not the wood the brand is known for, but EPP foam. Each stone weighs 180 g (about 6 oz) and is rated to hold 180 kg — 396 lb. That combination is the whole point. A toddler can carry one in each hand and drag the set around the house, and an adult can stand on the stack without it flinching.
A six-piece set costs $50 and single stones are $10 each, which is why they get compared with Stapelstein so often. Below: which set to start with, the accessories that matter, a spec-by-spec Green Elephant vs. Stapelstein comparison, the brand's wooden toys, and then the practical questions — age, materials, cleaning, whether the brand is legit, and the honest downsides.
Because the stones stack as readily as they balance, they land on the same shelf as the open-ended stacking toys most toddlers already own — same instinct, larger scale.
Buy the 6-piece rainbow set ($50) if you want one thing that survives a rainy week indoors. Little ones step between stones laid flat on a rug; older kids stack towers and build obstacle courses. Add the $15 flower balance board before you add more stones — it's the single accessory that changes how the set gets played with. Skip the $20 rolling discs set if your child is under 3: it contains 2 cm wooden balls and is labeled a choking hazard.
What Green Elephant stepping stones actually are
Each stone is an octagonal pod with a domed top and a hollow underside. That shape does three jobs at once: domed-side-up it's a stepping surface, hollow-side-up it's a bowl (for water, sand, blocks or peg dolls), and either way it nests and stacks with the others.
There is one size only. The listed specs are identical for every color and every set:
- Diameter: 27 cm (10.6 inches)
- Height: 11.5 cm (4.5 inches)
- Weight: 180 g per stone (about 6 oz)
- Load capacity: 180 kg (396 lb) per stone
- Material: EPP (expanded polypropylene), waterproof, indoor and outdoor
The 396 lb figure is the one worth pausing on. It means the stones are not a toddler-only purchase — an adult can stand on one, and two children can stack and climb without the foam bottoming out. It's also why the stones end up used as step stools, seats and side tables long after the "balance toy" phase.
Because they're waterproof, they can genuinely live outside. Hollow-side-up in a backyard they hold water or sand, and they rinse clean afterward. That's a real advantage over wooden balance boards and over the Pikler triangles families often buy for the same gross-motor reason. The AAP's parent site advises giving young children easy access to active toys and says children under 6 need three hours of activity a day — a set of stones left out on the rug is about as easy-access as it gets.
Which set to buy: 6-piece, 4-piece or singles
Green Elephant stepping stones come in a 6-piece set for $50, a 4-piece pastel set for $34, and single stones for $10 each; every stone is the same 10.6 × 4.5 inch size, so the only real decisions are how many you need and which colors. The six-piece set works out to $8.33 a stone, the four-piece to $8.50, so sets save a little over singles.
| Option | Price | What you get | Best for | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
![]() |
6-Piece Rainbow Set | $50 ($8.33 a stone) | Six stones: red, orange, yellow, green, light blue, purple | The default first purchase — six stones is enough for a path or a climbable tower |
![]() |
6-Piece Pastel Set | $50 ($8.33 a stone) | Six stones: pink, pastel orange, pastel yellow, mint green, steel blue, pastel purple | Rooms where primary rainbow would fight the decor |
![]() |
4-Piece Pastel Set | $34 ($8.50 a stone) | Four stones: pastel orange, mint green, steel blue, pastel purple (an option on the pastel set's page) | A small apartment, a younger toddler, or topping up a six-piece set to ten |
![]() |
Single stones | $10 each | One stone per listing, in 17 colors — the rainbow and pastel shades plus rainbow confetti, black, gray, dark blue and lime green | Adding height to an existing set, or matching a specific color scheme |
How many stepping stones do you need? Six stones make a path one child can cross, or a tower tall enough to be interesting. Two children playing together will want eight or nine. The six-piece set plus three singles is $80 for nine stones; two full sets is $100 for twelve — so buy singles when you want specific colors (the confetti and the neutrals aren't in either rainbow) and a second set when you simply want more.
The accessories that actually extend play
The stones are a platform, and the add-ons are where the system either grows with your child or stalls. There are four: a foam balance board, a set of rolling discs, and two styles of wooden connector boards. Ranked by how much they change the play, rather than by price:
| Accessory | Price | Key specs | Verdict | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
![]() |
Flower Balance Board | $15 | EPP foam; 14 in diameter, 4 in high, 0.5 lb, holds 250 lb | Buy this first. On its own it's a wobble board; on a stack it caps the tower or becomes a small table |
![]() |
6-Piece Rolling Discs | $20 | Six 8 in (20 cm) discs with different-sized holes; six wooden balls at 4.5, 3.5 and 2 cm | Ages 3+ only — the listing carries a choking-hazard warning for the small balls |
![]() |
Themed Connector Boards | $90 for 3 | 39.4 × 11 × 0.7 in birch plywood; cookstove, dining and jewel designs; weight limit: see product page | Bridges plus pretend play — listed as fitting Green Elephant and Stapelstein stones |
![]() |
Exclusive Connector Boards | $95 for 3 | 46 × 11 × 0.7 in unpainted basswood plywood; listed at 300 lb per board | The longest, plainest boards — best if you want bridges, not themes |
The flower balance board is the cheap, obvious add-on. It is the same EPP foam as the stones, wider than a stone at 14 inches, and at half a pound a toddler can flip it over unaided. Flat side down it rocks underfoot; flat side up on a stack of three stones it becomes a stool or a play table.
The rolling discs sit in the hollow of an upturned stone, and the balls roll around and drop through the holes. It's a fine-motor and problem-solving toy rather than a balance one, and because the smallest ball is 2 cm it belongs on a high shelf in any house with a baby or young toddler.
The connector boards are the expensive step, and they're the one that turns a set of stones into a room-sized obstacle course. Each board has a round cutout at both ends that drops over a stone's domed top. At 46 inches, two Exclusive boards and three stones will span a rug. If you already own a balance or wobble board, try bridging that first before spending $90 — the play overlaps more than the product pages suggest.
Green Elephant stepping stones vs. Stapelstein
Green Elephant stepping stones vs. Stapelstein comes down to price, not performance: both are waterproof EPP foam stones that weigh about 180 g and are rated to 396 lb, but a Green Elephant stone costs $10 and a six-piece set $50, while Stapelstein lists a single Original at $49 and its six-piece rainbow set at $259. Stapelstein is the German original, made in Germany, and its stones run about a quarter inch wider.
Here is how the two line up on paper. The Green Elephant column comes from the product listings; the Stapelstein column comes from Stapelstein's own product pages as of September 2026. We sell Green Elephant and do not sell Stapelstein, so treat the right-hand column as a reference, and check Stapelstein's site for current pricing.
| Green Elephant | Stapelstein Original | |
|---|---|---|
| Single stone | $10 | $49 |
| Six-piece rainbow set | $50 | $259 |
| Diameter | 10.6 in (27 cm) | 10.83 in |
| Height | 4.5 in (11.5 cm) | 4.72 in |
| Weight per stone | 180 g (about 6 oz) | 0.4 lb |
| Load rating | 396 lb (180 kg) | 396 lb |
| Material | EPP foam, waterproof | EPP foam, waterproof |
| Maker's stated age | Not stated on the listing | 1–99 years |
| Where it is made | Not stated on the listing | Germany |
| Climbing guidance | Not stated on the listing | Stack no more than 3 stones for climbing |
Are the materials the same? Yes — both brands use EPP (expanded polypropylene), both describe their stones as waterproof and suitable indoors and out, and both publish the same 396 lb load figure. On a spec sheet the only physical difference is size: Stapelstein's stone is 0.23 inches wider and 0.22 inches taller.
What the extra money buys. Stapelstein publishes more than Green Elephant does: a 1–99 age range, German manufacturing, third-party safety testing in the EU, and a clear rule of thumb to stack no more than three stones for climbing. Green Elephant's listings give dimensions, weight and load, and stop there. If documented testing matters more to you than price, that gap is the honest reason to pay for the original.
Where Green Elephant wins. A family can buy the six-piece set, three extra single stones and the flower balance board for $95 — less than the price of two Stapelstein singles. Seventeen single colors at $10 each also make it easy to build an odd-numbered, mixed-color collection.
Can you mix the two? Green Elephant's themed connector boards are listed as compatible with both Green Elephant and Stapelstein stones, so a Stapelstein owner can add Green Elephant bridges. That is the only cross-brand fit the maker claims; with a quarter-inch size difference, don't assume a mixed tower nests as neatly as a single-brand one.
Other Stapelstein alternatives worth a look
Foam isn't the only answer. If the stacking matters less to you than grip or a wooden look, stepping-stone sets from Tiny Land and Aida Kids solve problems the EPP stones don't:
| Set | Price | Listed specs | Choose it if | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
![]() |
Green Elephant 6-Piece Set | $50 | Six EPP foam stones, 10.6 × 4.5 in, 396 lb each, waterproof | You want the stack-step-and-bowl play Stapelstein is known for |
![]() |
Tiny Land Stepping Stones | $42.29 | Five graduated stones from 7 in to 12.7 in across, 1.9–3.5 in high; non-slip rubber base, textured top; 220 lb | Your floors are hardwood or tile and grip matters more than stacking |
![]() |
Aida Kids Little Equilibrist | $79.90 | Six wooden stones, 8 in across and 1 in high, foam bottoms; listed for 12 months and up | You want wood, a low step for a new walker, and a printed age rating |
Beyond stepping stones: what else Green Elephant makes
People arrive searching for "Green Elephant toys" as often as for the stones, and the wooden toys are genuinely the brand's other half. Three families are worth knowing:
Large rainbow stacking blocks — a 12-piece arch at 14 × 7.08 × 2.75 inches, $38 in pine or $58 in stained basswood with a brighter finish. It's the classic Waldorf-style rainbow, colored with what the listing describes as non-toxic, water-based dye, and it pairs naturally with the stones for building. There's also an 11-piece semi-circles set at $25 if you want flat building boards rather than the full arch.
Gem and lucite blocks are the brand's light-table side: the Pastel & Rainbow Gem Block Collection starts at $18 with a wooden storage tray, and the Sparkle Garden Gem Set is $40 for the 30-piece set or $55 for the 40-piece. These are loose parts rather than gross-motor gear — good alongside Montessori-style open-ended toys, and small enough to deserve the same over-3 caution as the rolling discs.
The marble tree is the one big-ticket wooden item, and it's the reason Green Elephant shows up in searches about marble runs for toddlers. Balls cascade down a spiral of basswood plywood leaves; the kit version stands 28 inches tall. It's $38 as a glue-it-yourself kit or $76 as the pre-assembled version, which exists because every leaf has to be glued in facing the right way. The small balls make it a 3-and-up toy per the listing.
What age are Green Elephant stepping stones for?
Green Elephant does not print an age range on its stepping stone listings; the only age limit in the system is on the rolling discs accessory, which is labeled not for children under 3. For reference, Stapelstein rates its near-identical EPP stone for ages 1 to 99, and the stones themselves are single-piece foam with no small parts.
In practice, how a child uses them changes more than whether they can:
- New and steady walkers: stones laid flat on a rug, domed side up, with a hand to hold. One step up and one step down is the whole game. Hollow-side-up, the stones are bowls for scooping and filling.
- Preschoolers: paths with gaps to stride or jump across, the flower board as a wobble surface, and towers two or three stones high used as a seat or a step.
- Ages 3 and up: the rolling discs come into play, and connector boards turn the set into bridges, market stalls and obstacle courses.
- Grade-schoolers and adults: with a 396 lb rating per stone, nobody outgrows them by weight. They tend to become seats and footrests.
One sensible borrowed rule: Stapelstein recommends stacking no more than three stones for climbing. Green Elephant publishes no equivalent, and three is a reasonable ceiling for the same shape of stone. Stay within arm's reach of a toddler on any stack.
Are they non-toxic? The EPP question
Green Elephant stepping stones are made from EPP (expanded polypropylene) foam, which the maker describes as non-toxic, eco-friendly and waterproof; the listings do not name a specific safety test or certification for the stones. That is the honest state of the paperwork, and it is worth knowing before you buy.
EPP is a closed-cell bead foam — the same family of material used in car bumper cores — chosen here because it's light, waterproof, and springs back to shape instead of denting permanently. Polypropylene is the plastic behind recycling code 5. And unlike painted wood, there's no surface coating on the stones to chip or flake.
What it is not is wood. If you came to Green Elephant for the rainbow stackers and assumed the stones matched, they don't — they're foam, and they feel like dense, slightly textured foam rather than timber. Some families love that (quiet, light, no splinters, no repainting); others find it less beautiful than the wooden toys. The brand's wooden pieces are a different material story: pine, basswood and birch plywood, colored with what the listings call non-toxic, water-based dyes.
Two safety points are worth stating precisely. The stones themselves are large single-piece items with no small parts. The rolling discs accessory, however, includes wooden balls down to 2 cm and carries an explicit warning: choking hazard, small parts, not for children under 3, supervision required. Separately, the Exclusive Connector Boards listing uses the phrase "CPSC-approved" alongside its 300 lb per-board rating. Read that as the maker's own wording; we haven't seen a test report, and the stone listings make no similar claim, so don't assume one.
How to clean and store them, indoors and out
Green Elephant stepping stones are waterproof EPP foam, so they can be wiped or rinsed clean and used outdoors; the maker gives no formal care instructions, and Stapelstein's guidance for the same material is simply soap, water and a wipe. A few habits keep them looking good:
- After messy play: tip out the sand or water, rinse, and stand the stones on their sides so the hollow drains and dries.
- Everyday cleaning: a cloth with mild dish soap and water. There is no fabric, no seams and no paint to worry about.
- Sun: Stapelstein warns that prolonged direct sunlight can discolor and fatigue EPP. Green Elephant doesn't address it, but it's the same foam — play outside, store in the shade or indoors.
- Rough ground: foam is softer than concrete. Dragging stones across a driveway or pavers will mark the surface; grass, decking and rugs won't.
- Wooden accessories: the connector boards are plywood and the Exclusive set is unpainted. Wipe them with a barely damp cloth, keep them out of the sandbox and the rain, and store them flat.
Storage is the quiet advantage. Six stones nest into a single stack about the footprint of a dinner plate, which is why they suit apartments better than most gross-motor gear. If you're planning the whole room, the playroom organization guide covers where big active toys can live.
Is Green Elephant legit?
Yes — Green Elephant Home and Toys is a real independent toy brand that sells the same stepping stones, at the same $50 set price, through its own website as well as through retailers like us. It isn't a pop-up storefront: the line is coherent (open-ended wooden blocks, rainbows, peg dolls, marble trees, plus the EPP stone line), and the specs on every stone listing match down to the gram.
Three things do trip people up, and they're worth knowing before you order. First, Green Elephant restocks in batches, and some colors or versions are sold on pre-order — more on that under the complaints below. Second, the brand name overlaps with unrelated companies, so search results mix them together; the toy maker is "Green Elephant Home and Toys". Third, these are not a licensed Stapelstein product. Green Elephant makes its own EPP stones at a lower price, and says its themed connector boards fit both brands' stones.
The honest complaints
No product is perfect, and five issues are worth naming before you buy.
Pre-order waits. When a color or version is between production batches, its option is labeled "Pre-order (Ships in 2-3 Weeks)". At the time of writing that label sits mostly on the wooden rainbow stackers and marble trees rather than the stones, but it moves around. If you're buying for a birthday, read the option name on the product page before you count on a delivery date.
They can slide on hard floors. The listings mention no non-slip base, and at 180 g there isn't much stone to hold itself in place. On hardwood or tile, a child pushing off can move the stone instead of themselves. Set them up on a rug or play mat — or, if your whole house is hard flooring, look at a set with a rubber base, like the Tiny Land stepping stones.
Foam marks. EPP springs back from compression, but it is still foam, and the beaded texture shows wear sooner than hardwood does. Expect a set that lives outdoors to stop looking new well before it stops working.
Thin paperwork. No printed age range, no named safety standard on the stone listings, and no care instructions. None of that makes the stones unsafe, but a buyer who wants documentation will find more of it from Stapelstein — at five times the price.
Buying singles is fiddly. Each of the 17 colors is a separate listing rather than a dropdown, so assembling a custom eight-stone set means adding eight separate products to your cart.
Who should buy them — and who should skip
Buy if: you have a toddler, preschooler or young grade-schooler, limited space, and want one purchase that covers indoor gross-motor play on bad-weather days. Buy if you already have a climbing frame or a play couch and want something that adds to it and stacks away small. Buy if you need something washable that can go from backyard to living room.
Skip if: you specifically want wooden toys — these are foam, and no amount of styling changes that. Skip if your floors are all hard surfaces and you have no rug to put them on. Skip the rolling discs entirely if your youngest is under 3.
For context on where this sits among active-play options, the WHO's physical activity guidance for under-5s recommends at least 180 minutes of varied physical activity a day for 1–4 year olds, and a stack of stones in the corner is one of the easier ways to chip away at that in winter. If you're building out the wider space, our outdoor toys guide and building toys guide cover the two categories that pair with these most often.
And if the verdict is "right idea, wrong material", wooden balance boards and balance beams train the same skills with a very different look:
Shop all stepping stones at EasyTot →
Frequently Asked Questions
What age are Green Elephant stepping stones for?
Green Elephant does not print an age range on its stepping stone listings. The stones are single-piece foam with no small parts, and Stapelstein rates its near-identical EPP stone for ages 1 to 99. Toddlers step between stones laid flat on a rug, preschoolers stack and jump, and the rolling discs accessory is for ages 3 and up only.
How much weight can a Green Elephant stepping stone hold?
Each Green Elephant stepping stone is rated to 180 kg, or 396 lb, according to the product listing. The flower-shaped balance board is rated to 250 lb and the Exclusive Connector Boards are listed at 300 lb per board. In practice that means adults can stand on them alongside children.
What size are Green Elephant stepping stones?
Every Green Elephant stepping stone is the same size: 27 cm (10.6 inches) across and 11.5 cm (4.5 inches) tall, weighing 180 g. They are sold as a 6-piece set for $50, a 4-piece pastel set for $34, and single stones for $10 each in 17 colors.
Are Green Elephant stepping stones non-toxic?
They are made from EPP (expanded polypropylene), which the brand describes as non-toxic and eco-friendly. It is a closed-cell foam with no painted surface coating to chip. The stone listings quote a load capacity but do not name a specific safety test or certification.
Are Green Elephant stepping stones the same as Stapelstein?
No. They are a separate brand making the same style of EPP balance stone. Green Elephant stones are 10.6 inches across and cost $10 each; Stapelstein's Original is 10.83 inches across, made in Germany, and listed at $49. Both weigh about 180 g and are rated to 396 lb.
Are Green Elephant stepping stones a good Stapelstein dupe?
On the spec sheet, yes: same EPP foam, same 396 lb load rating, nearly the same size, at about one fifth of the price. What Stapelstein adds is German manufacturing, a stated 1 to 99 age range and third-party testing in the EU, none of which Green Elephant's listings document.
Do Green Elephant connector boards fit Stapelstein stones?
Green Elephant lists its 3-piece themed connector boards as compatible with both Green Elephant and Stapelstein stepping stones. Each themed board measures 39.4 by 11 by 0.7 inches. That is the only cross-brand fit the maker claims, so don't assume the two brands' stones nest perfectly in one tower.
How many stepping stones do you need?
Six is the standard starting set and is enough for one child to make a path or a climbable tower. Two children playing together will want eight or nine. A six-piece set plus three $10 singles comes to $80 for nine stones, and lets you add colors that aren't in either rainbow set.
Can Green Elephant stepping stones be used outside?
Yes. The listings describe the EPP foam as waterproof and suitable for indoor and outdoor use, and hollow-side-up the stones hold water or sand for messy play. Rinse them, stand them on edge to dry, and store them out of prolonged direct sun, which Stapelstein warns can discolor the same material.
How do you clean Green Elephant stepping stones?
Wipe them with a cloth, mild soap and water, or rinse them off outdoors. The foam is waterproof and has no fabric, seams or paint. Green Elephant gives no formal care instructions; Stapelstein's guidance for the same EPP material is simply water, soap and a wipe.
How do Green Elephant stepping stones compare with Nuby?
Nuby's StepPebbles are also EPP foam: a set of six stones sold with a balance board, which Nuby advertises as holding up to 400 lb. Green Elephant sells the six stones for $50 and the flower balance board separately for $15, and offers 17 single colors for building a custom set.
Why do some Green Elephant products say pre-order?
Green Elephant restocks in production batches, so when a color or version is between batches its option is labeled Pre-order (Ships in 2-3 Weeks). Check the option name on the individual product page before buying for a specific date.
Keep reading
GearBest Balance & Wobble Boards for Kids (2026)
GearBest Pikler Triangles 2026
GearBest Building Toys for Toddlers 2026
GearBest Montessori Toys 2026
MilestonesWhy Toddlers Love Marble Runs 2026
GearBest Outdoor Toys for Toddlers: Active Play Guide (2026)
GearToy Storage & Playroom Organization Guide
GearBest Play Couches for Kids











